Read This Book: The Good Lord Bird

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

I had been eyeing James McBride’s The Good Lord Bird (2013), winner of the National Book Award, for several weeks at my library.  I heard about it when it came out, and I considered putting it on hold, but I knew I didn’t have time for pleasure reading until after my semester was over.  So I waited.  And then I’d visit my library and see it sitting on the shelf, just sitting there in the “new books” case waiting for somebody to read it.  Nobody checked it out.  There was no waiting list.  So when my freedom from school and research came, I snatched it up, both happy that I could access it so easily and disappointed that nobody else in my community wanted to read it.

good lord bird cover

Although they may not be interested in it, I know several people who would be.  Mark Twain, for example.  He would’ve loved this…

View original post 449 more words

Leave a Reply

