Skipping and other Childhood Epidemics

Field Notes From Fatherhood

When was the last time you skipped?

If you’re like me, that’s a difficult question to answer because in all likelihood it’s been a very, very long time. Ordinarily, that is, because I can now answer that question with precision. It was Thursday afternoon, December 19, 2013.

My youngest and I were leaving his school, chaotically disgorged with the hordes of howling pre-Christmas children and their parents, and next to me my three-year-old suddenly broke into an exuberant bouncing skip. So hey, what the hell, I did too.

After a few bounding hops I stopped, however, and cast a somewhat sheepish look about me. Not quite proper for a 43-year-old man to be skipping, after all. Grown men neither caper nor cavort, you know.

Which got me thinking. Why not? Skipping is a fast, efficient mode of locomotion, one which sets the heart racing and instantly, involuntarily makes you feel…

View original post 799 more words

Leave a Reply

