Unicorns, Dreams, and That Career/Romance Thing Again

THIS IS DAHLIA'S BLOG

Image

Sometimes expectations can be dangerous. Not for all the usual reasons (they can lead to disappointment, for one) but because they can lead you astray.

For the longest time, I had a picture in my head of the kind of person I wanted to partner up with. As a friend reminded me this weekend, I am a lot. “You’re BOLD. Undaunted. Project a badass image,” he said.

I have been told this enough times that you think it would have sunk in by now, but I guess my reaction always is: don’t believe the hype.

I mean, I know how I see myself—and I know how much of everything else is just smoke and mirrors. And somehow, I expect people to see through the smoke and mirrors, to recognize the scared little girl that is still in there somewhere, but then I try to shift my perspective, and I…

View original post 382 more words

Leave a Reply

